ROTC - Air Force

View Current Catalog

Cedarville University cooperates with Wright State University in offering Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps instruction which prepares students for commissioning as second lieutenants in the United States Air Force. While all courses are taken through the University, leadership laboratories and classes for the junior and senior years are taught at Wright State University, the site of the area Air Force ROTC detachment. Transportation is provided by the University.

The four-year program is divided into two phases: the General Military Course (GMC) involving the freshman and sophomore years and the Professional Officer Course (POC) involving the junior and senior years. GMC courses are open to everyone interested in registering for the courses. No commitment to the Air Force is required. Students enrolled in the POC are on contract with the government and receive a $250 per month subsistence allowance.

Scholarships covering the cost of tuition, fees, textbooks, and a $250 monthly allowance for two and three years are available on a competitive basis to students who demonstrate academic and leadership potential. Scholarship availability is greatest in the areas of mathematics, computer science, physics, engineering, nursing, and premedicine. Traditionally, about half of Cedarville cadets are able to win scholarships.

Students interested in Air Force ROTC should contact the Department of Aerospace Studies, Wright State University, Dayton, Ohio, 45435, phone: 937-775-2730 or the Cedarville University Admissions Office. Air Force ROTC course requirements count as elective credits in the 128 semester hours required for graduation.