Camp Director

Sports Banner

John McGillivray
Head Coach, Women’s Soccer

John McGillivray is one of the most well-respected soccer coaches in the state of Ohio and has been coaching soccer at Cedarville University since 1974.

McGillivray has been the head coach of the Lady Jackets since 1998. He served as the Cedarville men’s head coach from 1974 through 1997.

Coupled with the 137 wins with the women, McGillivray has 352 total soccer victories at CU. His 300th overall win came in a 5-0 decision over Grace on Aug. 28, 2008. He picked up his 100th victory with the Lady Jackets in a 2-1 result at Point Park on Oct. 17, 2009.

McGillivray has enjoyed seven winning seasons with the Lady Jackets including a best-ever 15-7 mark in 2013. CU led the Great Midwest Athletic Conference with a 9-1 regular season mark and McGillivray was voted G-MAC Coach of the Year.

Cedarville finished 13-8-2 in 2004, won NCCAA Midwest Region championship, and secured an automatic berth in the NCCAA National Tournament. The 2000 club had a 12-7-2 record and made the school’s first-ever NCCAA championship appearance in women’s soccer.

McGillivray and his teams have long been recognized for their sportsmanlike behavior. His Lady Jackets twice received the Fair Play Team Award from the American Mideast Conference for their exemplary conduct on the field. He was presented the first-ever Distinguished Merit Award in 1990 by the Ohio Collegiate Soccer Officials Association. The National Intercollegiate Soccer Officials Association honored him in 1992 with their National Merit Award.

The Springfield, Ohio native led his men's teams to eight Mid-Ohio Conference titles, five NCCAA District III banners, three NAIA District 22 championships, and one NAIA Area IV crown which carried with it a trip to the NAIA Nationals in 1974. He guided his squad to five NCCAA National Tournament appearances, a pair of NCCAA National Runner-Up finishes and he was chosen NCCAA National Coach of the Year in 1981.

McGillivray served at all levels of NAIA soccer including president of the NAIA Soccer Coaches Association from 1983 through 1985. He was inducted into the Cedarville University Athletic Hall of Fame in 1991 and the NAIA Hall of Fame in 1993.