Institutional Review Board


To ensure that participant hazards are kept within acceptable moral and ethical parameters when human subject research is conducted involving Cedarville University faculty, staff, and students.


The oversight of research involving human subjects at Cedarville University springs from our common commitment to the principles of human value and human dignity arising from God's Word (Psalm 8; Genesis 1:26-28; Psalm 139: 13-16). Our respect for human life at all stages, from conception until death, requires the implementation of careful, concise internal standards to protect individuals participating in research initiatives from intentional or unintentional harm, and to affirm their value as fellow bearers of God's image. It is our intention to be in compliance with federal and international standards in regard to research involving human subjects provided they are consistent with that Biblical commitment. The policy statement available through the link below should be reviewed by any researchers prior to submission of a research proposal. Any such submission should use the forms available on this site.

Committee Membership 2015 - 2016

Voting members of Cedarville's Institutional Review Board include:

  • Dr. Douglas Anderson - Professor of Pharmacy Practice
  • Dr. Sharon Christman - Professor of Nursing
  • Dr. Kristi Coe - Assistant Professor of Library Science
  • Dr. April Crommett - Associate Professor of Exercise Science
  • Dr. Steve Gruber - Professor of Education
  • Dr. Elisha Injeti - Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Dr. J. Michael L√≥pez - Professor of Communications
  • Jay Lucas (IRB Community Member) - Senior Pastor of Grace Community Church (Washington Court House, OH)
  • Dr. Ruth Markham - Assistant Professor of Psychology
  • Dr. Dennis Sullivan (IRB Chair) - Professor of Biology, and Director of the Center for Bioethics

Non-voting members of Cedarville's Institutional Review Board include:

  • Dr. Marc Sweeney (IRB Institutional Official) - Dean, School of Pharmacy
  • Jessicah Zehring - Administrative Assistant for the Institutional Review Board