Atomic Learning: Manage Groups

Before you start...

If you have certain administrator rights in Atomic Learning, you can create groups of users. You can then assign or recommend training to the groups and view the group’s progress on this training.

Create a new group

  1. Log in to Atomic Learning with your CedarNet username and password.
  2. From the “Tools” dropdown menu, click “Manage Users.”
  3. Click [Add New User Group]. The Create Group window opens.
  4. In the “Group Name” field, type a name for the group.
  5. Add users to the group from either the “Select a Group” section or the “Select a User” section. For more specific instructions on adding users, see “Add users to a group” below.
  6. When all the desired users are added, click [Save]. The group is now created.

Edit a group

After you create a group, you can edit it to change the group name or add or remove users. To edit a group, do the following:

  1. Log in to Atomic Learning with your CedarNet username and password.
  2. From the “Tools” dropdown menu, click “Manage Users.”
  3. From the “Group Name” list, click the name of the group you wish to edit. The Edit Group window opens.
  4. Make the desired changes, such as adding users or removing users (see below).
  5. Click [Save]. The group is now edited.

Delete a group

  1. Log in to Atomic Learning with your CedarNet username and password.
  2. From the “Tools” dropdown menu, click “Manage Users.”
  3. From the “Group Name” list, locate the group you want to delete.
  4. Next to the name of the group you want to delete, click the trashcan icon. The Confirm Delete window opens.
  5. Click “Yes.” The group is deleted. If you don’t want to delete the group, click “No.”

Add users to a group

Note:

You can add users to a group by either adding them individually or adding other groups (subgroups) that contain the desired users. To add users to a group, you can use a combination of both methods. You can add users to a group both when you are creating a new group and when you are editing an existing group.

Add individual users to a group

  1. Log in to Atomic Learning and navigate to the Manage Users page.
  2. If you are creating a new group, click [Add New User Group]. If you are editing an existing group, click the name from the “Group Name” list of the group you wish to add users to. Either the Create Group window or Edit Group window will appear.
  3. In the Create Group/Edit Group window, click your cursor in the “Select a User” field.
  4. Type the name of the desired user. When you type a name, it will appear in a pop-up menu. Any name in the Cedarville directory should be listed here. If a name does not appear, try typing it either *First name Last name* or *Last name, First name* (whatever way you have not tried). Most names are listed *Last name, First name*.
  5. When the name appears in the pop-up menu, click it. The name listed in the correct form - Name (CedarNet username) – should appear in the “Select a User” field.
  6. Click [Add ->]. The user is added to the group.

Note:

When you add one or more individual users to a group, the users will merge and simply become one group (with the name of the main group) after you save the changes. For example, if you add User 1 and User 2 as individual users to Group A, User 1 and User 2 inside of Group A will simply merge and become Group A after you save Group A.

Add subgroups to a group

  1. Log in to Atomic Learning and navigate to the Manage Users page.
  2. If you are creating a new group, click [Add New User Group]. If you are editing an existing group, click the name from the “Group Name” list of the group you wish to add a subgroup to. Either the Create Group window or Edit Group window will appear.
  3. In the Create Group/Edit Group window under "Select a Group," check the "Only show groups I created" box. This is a mandatory step.
  4. From the “Select a Group” dropdown menu, click the name of the desired subgroup.
  5. Click [Add ->]. All the members of that subgroup are added to the group.

Note:

When you add one or more subgroups to a group, the subgroups will merge and simply become one group (with the name of the main group) after you save the changes. For example, if you add Group 1 and Group 2 as subgroups to Group A, Group 1 and Group 2 inside of Group A will simply merge and become Group A after you save Group A. But outside of Group A, Group 1 and Group 2 will remain unchanged.

Remove users from a group

After you add individual users or subgroups to a group, you may decide you want to remove one or more of them from the group. The way you go about removing users depends on what you have just done before you decide to remove the users.

Before saving changes to a new group or existing group but after you've added individual users or subgroups

Suppose you’re in the middle of creating a new group or editing an existing group. You have added individual users or individual subgroups to the main group. Before saving, you decide you don’t want one of the users, one of the subgroups, or one of the users in a subgroup to be part of the group.

To remove an individual user:

  1. In the “Current Selections” section under “Selected Individual Users,” locate the name of the user you wish to remove.
  2. Click the red “X” next to the listing of the desired name.
  3. Repeat steps 1-2 for any other users you wish to remove.

To remove a subgroup:

  1. In the “Current Selections” section under “Selected Groups,” locate the name of the subgroup you wish to remove.
  2. Click the red “X” next to the listing of the desired group.
  3. Repeat steps 1-2 for any other subgroups you wish to remove.

To remove a user from a subgroup:

  1. In the “Current Selections” section under “Selected Groups,” locate the name of the group you wish to remove individual users from.
  2. Click [View Users]. The Users in Group “*Group Name*” window opens.
  3. Uncheck the box next to the users you want to remove from the subgroup.
  4. Click [Close].
  5. Repeat steps 1-4 for any other subgroups that have users you want to remove.

After saving changes to a new group or updated existing group

You will only be able to remove individual users and entire subgroups from a group following the above methods after you add the users or subgroups but before saving. This is because after you save a new group or updated existing group, both the individual users and the subgroups merge and simply become one group with the name of the main group.

For example, if you add Group 1 and Group 2 as subgroups to Group A, Group 1 and Group 2 inside of Group A will simply merge and become Group A after you save Group A. However, please note that outside of Group A, Group 1 and Group 2 will remain unchanged. Similarly, if you add User 1 and User 2 to Group A, after you save, User 1 and User 2 will merge into a group with the name of the main group.

After saving changes to a new group or updated existing group, the only way you can remove users is to remove individual users from the main group in the Create Group/Edit Group window.

To remove users after saving changes to a new group or updated existing group:

  1. From the “Group Name” list on the Manage Users page, click the name of the group you wish to edit. The Edit Group window opens.
  2. In the “Current Selections” section under “Selected Groups,” locate the name of the group you are editing.
  3. Click [View Users]. The Users in Group “*Group Name*” window opens.
  4. Uncheck the box next to the users you want to remove from the group.
  5. Click [Close]. Underneath the name of the group, the number of users you have selected to remain in the group will be shown.
  6. Before saving, repeat steps 2-5 to remove additional users or add users back to the group.
  7. Click [Save]. After saving, the removed users are permanently gone from the group until you add them again (see above).


Keywords: Atomic Learning administrator, assign training with Atomic Learning, Atomic Learning groups, collaborate, train, train staff, AL

Email this to a Friend

Help Page Feedback

Did this content help you? *


What is your opinion about the content? *


Suggest new content or let us know how we can improve this content (optional):

If you desire a response, please provide your email address (optional):

Leave this field empty