Google Mail: Turn Off Conversation View

Google Mail: Turn Off Conversation View

By default, emails in Google Mail with the same subject are all grouped together. So when you receive a new email with the same subject of a previous related email, that email will appear grouped together with all the emails associated with that subject. You have to click the group of emails to see any new messages. Google Mail calls this feature conversation view. Turn off conversation view by following the steps below.

Turn off Conversation View

  1. Navigate to and click the “Mail” link > Log in to Google Mail.
  2. Click the gear-shaped "Settings" icon located near the top right corner of the screen.
  3. From the drop-down menu, click "Settings."
  4. From the “Conversation View” section, select “Conversation view off.”
  5. Click [Save Changes] at the bottom of the page.

Keywords: turn off conversation view, get rid of grouped emails, make new emails separate, see new emails, email being deleted, make new emails their own message

Email this to a Friend

Help Page Feedback

Did this content help you? *

What is your opinion about the content? *

Suggest new content or let us know how we can improve this content (optional):

If you desire a response, please provide your email address (optional):

Leave this field empty