Outlook: Delete Items

Before you begin...

Messages and other items that you delete in Microsoft Outlook are sent to the Deleted Items folder. Outlook will keep deleted messages in a Deleted Items folder for 30 days after you delete them.

Delete an item

  1. Select the message or other item you want to delete.
  2. In the ribbon, click "Delete" (big black X). The item will be sent to the Deleted Items folder and will be permanently deleted after 30 days.

Delete an item forever

If you want to permanently delete an item before it is automatically removed from Deleted Items at the end of 30 days, you can simply delete it from the Deleted Items folder.

  1. Navigate to the Deleted Items folder.
  2. Select the item you want to delete permanently.
  3. Click "Delete" in the ribbon.
  4. A pop-up window will appear asking you if you want to delete the item; if you do, select [Yes]. It will be permanently deleted from your account.

Retrieve a deleted item

If you accidentally delete an item or want to restore a previously deleted item, you can move it from the Deleted Items folder into the Inbox or another folder.

  1. Navigate to the Deleted Items folder.
  2. Select the message you want to restore.
  3. In the "Move" group in the ribbon, select "Move."
  4. From the drop window, select "Other Folders."
  5. Select the folder you want to move the item to and click [OK]. The item will be moved to that folder and is no longer in the Deleted Items folder.


Keywords: trash, emails sent to trash, deleted items, delete emails, deleted emails, trash bin, junk emails, spam emails, recover deleted emails, recycle, clean out messages, clean up

Email this to a Friend

Help Page Feedback

Did this content help you? *


What is your opinion about the content? *


Suggest new content or let us know how we can improve this content (optional):

If you desire a response, please provide your email address (optional):

Leave this field empty