For the word of God and the testimony of Jesus Christ


Alumni Scholarship Award

This award is available to an outstanding freshman, sophomore, junior, or non-graduating seniors from each academic department. The recipient receives a $1,000 scholarship and plaque.

The Jenna Lynn Ellis Award

Recipients will be a junior or senior student pursuing a career in law and planning to attend law school following graduation with a 3.3 or higher grade point average in any program of study. Preference will be given to students who want to serve in a branch of law relating to victim advocacy or criminal prosecution. Recipients must demonstrate exceptional academic, personal, and spiritual standards. Interested parties must complete an essay application explaining their motivation for pursuing a career in law, their definition of justice, and their ethical responsibilities within their expected field of practice. This scholarship is funded by Jenna Ellis. Recipients of this award are nominated and selected by department faculty; no application is necessary. The recipient is awarded $1,100.

Misty Carlson Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship was established by John Carlson in loving memory of his wife Misty '02 who died suddenly in 2005. Recipients must be Social Work majors with financial need. Preference is given to students from single parent homes. Students should submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) if interested in this scholarship. There is no attandance or GPA requirement or a separate application. The Financial Aid Director selects the recipients. One scholarship is awarded per year for approximately $1,000.

Loretta Lawrence Scholarship

Cynthia Sutter-Tkel established this scholarship in 2001 to honor the memory of her grandmother, Loretta Lawrence. The scholarships assists a full-time junior or senior social work student who is mission minded and involved in an extracurricular ministry. Recipient must have a cumulative GPA of 2.5 or above. Students should submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) if interested in this scholarship. The Social Work faculty select the recipient. One scholarship is awarded per year.