Female student works on an assignment in class

State Authorization

  1. Accreditation
  2. Assessment
  3. Links
  4. Memberships
  5. State Authorization
  6. Assurance Argument Writing Workshop
  7. Contact Us
  8. Personnel
  9. 2020 Accreditation Update Blog
  10. 2007 Self Study Archive

State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA)

Cedarville University has participated in NC-SARA, the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements since September 2015.  This participation enables Cedarville to deliver on-line courses to students in many states around the country.  To find out more about SARA, visit the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement and see what it means for CU.

Currently, all states are members of SARA except California.  Therefore, since Ohio is a member state, and Cedarville University is a participating institution, CU is authorized to offer our online programs in 49 states and Washington D.C., through SARA.  Cedarville University may also offer online programs to students residing in California since CU does not have a physical presence in California, as verified by the California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education office in March, 2016.

For information regarding programs leading to licensure, please see the specific Cedarville program and department, as SARA does not cover licensure issues.