Cedarville University Celebrates 106th Commencement

by Public Relations Office

Cedarville, Ohio-Cedarville University held its 106th commencement ceremony today. A record 632 students received degrees, including the first three graduates of Cedarville's master of education (M.Ed.) program. In addition, a number of special awards were given: the President's Trophy, the Faculty Scholarship Award, and the Medal of Honor. The President's Trophy, the highest honor for a graduating senior, recognizes leadership, ministry, community and campus involvement, athletic performance, and academic achievement. The 2002 recipients of the President's Trophy were Trenton A. Hamilton, a history and pre-law major from Niceville, Fla., and James Brock Weston, a preseminary Bible major from Morral, Ohio. Rubie Sue Maybury, a premed major from North Syracuse, N.Y., and Kimberly Eridon, a technical and professional communication major from Bowling Green, Ohio, received Faculty Scholarship Awards for maintaining a perfect 4.0 grade point average throughout their college careers. Also honored at commencement were Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ, who received the Cedarville University Medal of Honor in recognition of their commitment to free enterprise and their leadership in the business, civic, education, scientific, and philanthropic endeavors that have enriched southwestern Ohio. Fritz and Delores both worked at the Naval Research Laboratories during World War II, Fritz in research and Dolores in financial management. After returning to Ohio and a distinguished career in armament research and technical intelligence at Wright Patterson Air Force Base, they started their own company in the basement of their home. Their company, Systems Research Laboratories, grew to be one of the largest privately held research companies in the world and was responsible for breakthrough achievements in a wide variety of engineering and scientific fields. The recently established Russ Prize recognizes engineering achievement on the same level as the Nobel Prize recognizes other pursuits. Fritz Russ has served on the Engineering Advisory Council since before the engineering program was launched. Fritz and Delores are both are also active with their alma mater, Ohio University, where the OU College of Engineering and Technology is named for them. They have been active locally in civic affairs, the YMCA, the Dayton Art Institute, the Engineers Club of Dayton, and many other worthy causes. -30-