International English Honor Society Chartered at Cedarville

by Public Relations Office

Cedarville, Ohio—Sigma Tau Delta, the international English honors society, recently established the Alpha Kappa Delta (AKD) chapter at Cedarville University. The chapter is advised by Dr. Peggy Wilfong, associate professor of English, and Daniel Clark, assistant professor of English. To be inducted, students must have a GPA of 3.5 and be nominated by the faculty of the department of language and literature. Charter members of Alpha Kappa Delta are seniors Cara Snider (president; Waynesboro, Pa.), Andrew Huss (vice president; Lansdale, Pa.), Michael Burgman (secretary; Pipersville, Pa.), and Grayden Schafer (treasurer; Basom, N.Y.). “We are thrilled to have a venue for recognizing academic excellence among our English and English education majors,” shared Wilfong. “Besides rewarding strong academics, Alpha Kappa Delta offers students opportunities for professional development. Members can present papers at undergraduate conferences and submit creative works for publication in juried journals.” Society members also gain opportunities for graduate school scholarships and job search assistance. The Cedarville chapter plans to increase student participation in literary activities by holding readings and hosting guest lecturers. Sigma Tau Delta has more than 600 chapters worldwide and boasts 7,000 members. The society’s central purpose is to confer distinction upon students of the English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies while recognizing the accomplishments of professional writers who have contributed to the fields of language and literature.