Cedarville Team Wins Awards at Dayton Model UN Conference

by Public Relations Office

Cedarville, Ohio—Cedarville University`s Model United Nations team excelled at the Feb. 12-14 Dayton Model United Nations Conference, earning three of the top six awards. In addition, half of the team members earned special recognition for superior preparation and negotiating excellence. The Cedarville team competed against 150 other delegates from 15 regional colleges and universities. Cedarville`s 12 delegates represented Russia, India, and South Africa on six different United Nations committees. Their task was to faithfully represent each country`s national interests and policies as they negotiated solutions to a wide variety of world problems. Three of the Model UN`s six "Outstanding Delegate" awards went to Cedarville team members: Courtney Butterfield, representing South Africa in the African Union committee; Ian Ellis, representing Russia on the Security Council; and Karla Herdzik, representing South Africa in the General Assembly. Butterfield is a junior integrated social studies education major from Evansville, Ind., Ellis is a junior political science major from Martinsburg, W.Va., and Herdzik is a junior criminal justice major from West Seneca, N.Y. Team captain Jason Charrette was named "Distinguished Delegate," the second highest award, for his work representing Russia in the Security Council crisis simulation. Charrette is a senior political science major from Manchester, N.H. Joelle Marquardt received an Honorable Mention for her effective representation of South Africa on the committee debating patents and related intellectual property rights. Marquardt is a junior international studies and finance major from Wausau, Wis. Stephanie O`Hara, a senior international studies major from Brownsburg, Ind., won one of six writing awards for her superior paper outlining India`s policies on intellectual property rights. Additional team members were Jonathan Dunkin (junior international studies and political science major from Elyria, Ohio), Melissa Fawcett (senior criminal justice major from Cedarville, Ohio), and Nathanael Dewhurst (junior computer science major from Springfield, Ohio), who all represented Russia; Andrea McCarthy (sophomore history and political science major from Palmyra, N.Y.), who represented South Africa; and Josh Ehrich (senior history and political science major from Columbus, N.J.) and Melissa Joubert (junior prelaw major from Orleans, Vt.), who represented India. Herdzik shared, "Model UN was an amazing opportunity to learn an incredible amount of information about the country of South Africa, as well as the UN in general. I also learned a lot about how diplomacy works — sticking to your guns but knowing when to compromise when necessary, getting along with people, and public speaking. I finally understand the struggle it is to get such a large number of people to agree on one thing in order to actually make something happen." O`Hara added, "The conference challenged us to think outside of our own frame of reference to better understand the countries we were assigned to represent." The team is advised by Cedarville resident Dr. Frank Jenista, who has 25 years of experience as an American diplomat and serves as professor of international studies at Cedarville. -30-