Cedarville University Announces Promotions and Tenure

by Public Relations Office

Cedarville, Ohio—Today Cedarville University announced promotions and/or the granting of tenure for 14 faculty members. The promotions and tenure will go into effect on August 1, 2004. Those receiving promotions are Dr. J. Wesley Baker, to distinguished professor of communication arts; Dr. Carolyn Carlson, to distinguished professor of nursing; Terry Chamberlain, to associate professor of art; Dr. Jeffrey Cook, to associate professor of Bible; Dr. Scott Dixon, to associate professor of Bible; Dr. Michael Firmin, to professor of psychology; Derrick Green, to assistant professor of communication arts; Dr. Larry Helmick, to senior professor of chemistry; Dr. Pamela Johnson, to senior professor of exercise and sport science; Dr. Jack Riggs, to senior professor of Bible; Dr. David Schmidt, to associate professor of management; and Dr. John Whitmore, to associate professor of geology. Cook, Dixon, Firmin, Dr. Thomas Mach (associate professor of history), Schmidt, Whitmore, and Dr. Peggy Wilfong (associate professor of English) received tenure. Carlson, Firmin, Green, Helmick, Johnson, Riggs, and Whitmore are Cedarville residents. Cook, Mach, and Schmidt reside in Xenia. Baker, Dixon, and Wilfong live in Springfield, and Chamberlain lives in Dayton. -30-