Cedarville University Forensics and Debate Teams Named Champs

by Public Relations Office

Cedarville, Ohio—On March 12-14, Cedarville University`s forensics and debate teams combined forces to compete with 20 schools from across the country in the National Christian College Forensics Invitational (NCCFI). The tournament was hosted by Cedarville University. In the overall combined category, Cedarville placed first, becoming national champions of the NCCFI for the third year in a row. In addition, Cedarville placed first in individual events and fourth in debate. In individual events, special honors in the Best Overall Speaker category went to Kristin Sando (senior from Hollister, Calif.), Abbie McGaha (freshman from Papillion, Neb.), Jillian Anderson (junior from Hudson, Iowa), Kris Perry (junior from Drexel Hill, Pa.), Kristyn Gledhill (senior from Lansing, Kan.), April Price (senior from Cincinnati, Ohio), and Drew Clauson (junior from Warren, Mich.). In varsity debate, special honors went to Jennifer Grant (sophomore from Elverson, Pa.) and Autumn West (sophomore from Greenback, Tenn.). In novice debate, special honors went to Kate Lakomy (freshman from Liberty Township, Ohio) and Joe Dugan (freshman from Dearborn, Mich.). The teams are coached by Matt Moore, assistant professor of communication arts; and Derrick Green and Rebecca Sietman, both instructors of communication arts. -30-