Area Residents Honored by Cedarville University

by Public Relations Office

Cedarville, Ohio—At today`s annual Honors Day ceremony, Cedarville University honored 122 students (including 10 local residents) for their academic excellence and leadership. Also honored were two area residents whom students named the Cedarville University Faculty Member of the Year and Staff Member of the Year. Cedarville resident Dr. Chris Miller, chair of the department of biblical education and professor of Bible, was the students` pick for Faculty Member of the Year. In announcing Miller as the award recipient, Student Academic Advisory Board President Shelby Keyser explained, "The high quality of his teaching and his apparent love for students have given his classes a reputation as the best Cedarville Bible classes. ... He is capable of teaching the Old Testament in a way that makes it come alive for students. ... Students learn not only from the content of the courses that he teaches, but also from the character of the man that is teaching them." Miller has been on the Cedarville faculty since 1991. He holds degrees from Tennessee Temple University, Grace Theological Seminary, and Dallas Theological Seminary and has studied at the Institute of Holy Land Studies in Jerusalem. Miller and his wife, Pam, have three children. Cedarville University Sports Information Director (SID) Mark Womack, also a Cedarville resident, was pegged as Staff Member of the Year. A graduate of the University, Womack has served as the University`s SID since 1983. He built Cedarville`s sports information program almost from the ground up and coordinates all of the information and statistics generated by the Yellow Jacket varsity teams. The recipient of the Clarence "Ike" Pearson Award (the NAIA-SIDA`s highest honor), Womack has seen his SID Web site twice voted No. 1 in the NAIA ( Keyser described Womack as "genuinely humble, gracious, and selfless" and noted that one of his peers testified, "Excellence is his standard, and that permeates all of his work." Womack and his wife, Amy, have three children. In addition, 10 area residents received student awards during the program. Cedarville resident Leslie Awabdy, a senior nursing major, received The Ruby Jeremiah Scholarship. This scholarship is given to a married female student who is active in Christian service and student life and has a minimum grade point average of 3.0. The daughter of Carl and Jennifer Williams of Columbia, S.C., Awabdy resides in Cedarville with her husband, Mark. Cedarville resident Kimberly Shank, a junior integrated mathematics education major, received The Heyd Math/Science Award. This award is given to students in the department of science and mathematics who demonstrate a balance between devotion and service to God and diligence in their academic studies. The daughter of Steve and Merilee Shank of Cedarville, Shank is a 2002 graduate of Cedarville High School. Cedarville resident Elizabeth Shortt, a senior English major, received The Centennial Library Scholarship in Library Science. This award is given to a graduating senior who has enrolled in a library and information science graduate program. The daughter of Jeff and Sandy Shortt of Cedarville, Shortt is a 2001 graduate of Xenia Christian High School. Dayton resident and senior biology major Jeffrey Doub received The AuSable Honors Scholarship. The award recognizes a student who had distinguished academic performance while attending classes at the AuSable Institute of Mancelona, Mich. The son of Jack and Martha Doub of Dayton, Doub is a 2001 graduate of Dayton Christian High School. Dayton resident Joseph Miller, a junior mechanical engineering major, received The Raymond P. Holland Jr. Engineering Excellence Award. This award recognizes engineering majors who have a minimum GPA of 3.3 and exhibit excellence, creativity, dedication, and common sense in their studies and application of engineering principles. A 2002 graduate of Dayton Christian High School, Miller is the son of Dan and Chris Miller of Dayton. Dayton resident Robert T. Reid, a junior music major, received the Spiritual Leadership Music Award. This award is given to a junior or senior music major who has a minimum GPA of 3.3 and increasing spiritual maturity as a musician. The son of Larry and Diane Reid of Dayton, Reid is a 2002 graduate of Dayton Christian High School. Leah Morgan of Huber Heights received The Music Contribution Award. This award is presented to a senior who has made significant contributions to the department of music and art through performance, service, participation, ministry, and attitude. Morgan, a senior keyboard pedagogy and harp performance major, is a 1999 graduate of Huber Heights Christian Academy. She is the daughter of Terry and Debra Morgan of Huber Heights. Kettering resident Abby DeLange, a Spanish and multi-age Spanish education major, received The Anderson Family Scholarship. This scholarship is granted to a female student who is including a foreign language concentration in her studies and has an overall GPA of at least 3.0. A 2003 graduate of Dayton Christian High School, DeLange is the daughter of Paul and Julie DeLange of Kettering. Springfield resident Chad Jackson, a senior graphic design major, received The Harold R. Green Christian Ministries Award. This award is given to two graduating seniors who have shown faithfulness and leadership in the area of Christian ministry. A 2001 graduate of Carlisle High School in Carlisle, Pa., Jackson is the son of Jay and Judy Jackson of Springfield. Xenia resident Jonathan Hill, a junior preseminary Bible and Bible teacher education major, received The Helen Drullinger Memorial Award. This award recognizes an outstanding male Bible major who is preparing for professional Christian ministry and carries a minimum GPA of 3.3. Hill is a 1995 graduate of Bible Baptist Shepherd School in Farmington, N.M. -30-