Cedarville Team a Top Player at Dayton Model UN Conference

by Public Relations Office

Cedarville, Ohio—Cedarville University`s Model United Nations team brought home top honors at the Feb. 10-12 Dayton Model United Nations Conference. The 13-member Cedarville team competed against 150 other delegates from 14 regional colleges and universities, earning four of the top six awards and three of the six second-place awards. Cedarville swept the Economic and Social (ECOSOC) Committee top honors, and, in total, nine of Cedarville`s team members earned special recognition for superior preparation and negotiating skills. Cedarville`s delegates represented the United Kingdom, Italy, and South Africa on six different United Nations committees. Their task was to faithfully represent each country`s national interests and policies as they negotiated solutions to a wide variety of world problems. Cedarville`s four Outstanding Delegate awards (out of a possible six) were won by Team Captain Karla Herdzik, representing the United Kingdom on the Security Council; Courtney Butterfield, representing the United Kingdom on the European Union Committee; Joelle Marquardt, representing South Africa on the ECOSOC Committee; and Ryan Stalker, representing Italy on the Counter-Terrorism Committee. This was the second consecutive Outstanding Delegate award for both Herdzik, a senior political science and criminal justice major from West Seneca, N.Y., and Butterfield, a senior integrated social studies education major from Evansville, Ind. This was also the second year of awards for Marquardt; the senior global economics and international business major from Weston, Wis., received an Honorable Mention award last year. Stalker is a junior triple-major (history and political science, prelaw, and American studies) from New Milford, Pa. Cedarville`s three (out of a possible six) Distinguished Delegate honors went to Ian Ellis, representing the United Kingdom in the Security Council Simulation; Jonathan Dunkin, representing the United Kingdom in the General Assembly; and Gena Bravick, representing Italy in the ECOSOC Committee. This was the second straight Model UN award for Ellis; the senior political science major from Martinsburg, W.Va., received an Outstanding Delegate award last year. Dunkin is a junior international studies major from Elyria, Ohio, and Bravick is a junior integrated social studies education major from Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. Honorable Mention awards went to Cedarville diplomats Josh Ehrich, representing the United Kingdom on the Counter-Terrorism Committee, and Melissa Joubert, representing the United Kingdom on the ECOSOC Committee. Ehrich is a senior history and political science major from Chesterfield, N.J., while Joubert is a senior prelaw and political science major from Orleans, Vt. The team effort was rounded out by performances from senior Nathanael Dewhurst (Springfield, Ohio) and junior Andrea McCarthy (Palmyra, N.Y.), both representing Italy; and sophomore Kelli Daugherty (Traverse City, Mich.) and junior Geoff Peck (Menomonee Falls, Wis.), both representing South Africa. The team is advised by Cedarville resident Dr. Frank Jenista, who has 25 years of experience as an American diplomat and serves as professor of international studies at Cedarville. -30-