Cedarville University Forensics Team Sweeps Tournament

by Public Relations Office

Cedarville, Ohio-Cedarville University`s forensics team topped 28 other teams from across the country in the recent Holiday Frolic Speech Tournament held at The Ohio State University. In the overall combined category, Cedarville placed first with 230 points, beating second place Illinois State University by more than 60 points and placing in every individual category entered. Cedarville students placed first in four events, including Abbie McGaha (sophomore from Papillion, Neb.) in Poetry and Programmed Oral Interpretation, Julianne Howe (senior from Kentwood, Mich.) in Novice Poetry, and Ben Bolander (sophomore from Ortonville, Mich.) in Novice Prose. In addition, Natalie Gamache (freshman from Storm Lake, Iowa) placed third overall in the Pentathalon category. Varsity members Jillian Anderson (junior from Hudson, Iowa) and Autumn West (junior from Greenback, Tenn.) also took home awards. Anderson placed fourth in Programmed Oral Interpretation and sixth in Informative; West placed fifth in Rhetorical Criticism and sixth in Extemporaneous. Bolander took third in Novice Poetry and fifth in Dramatic Duo with Howe. Howe placed fifth in Programmed Oral Interpretation and was named Top Novice in the same category, as well as in After-Dinner Speaking. Gamache took additional awards in Sales Speaking (third) and Prose (fourth), with McGaha placing second in Prose. Other award-winners included junior Jen Grant (second in Rhetorical Criticism and Novice Persuasion and third in Novice Extemporaneous), sophomore Gena Bravick (third and Top Novice in Informative and third in Novice Persuasion), sophomore Nathan Heber (sixth in Novice Persuasion), and sophomore Ashley Hunter (sixth in Novice Impromptu). Grant is from Elverson, Pa.; Bravick is a Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. native; Heber is from Delphi, Ind.; and Hunter is an Oxford, Pa. product. The teams are coached by Hilliard resident Matt Moore and Cedarville resident Derrick Green, both assistant professors of communication arts. -30-