Cedarville University Honors Faculty Members

by Public Relations Office

Cedarville, Ohio—On April 19, Cedarville University honored 10 of its faculty members for excellence in service. The Dr. Allen Monroe Integration of Faith and Learning Award was presented to Columbus resident Dr. Daniel Estes. This award recognizes sustained excellence in integrating Scripture and Christian world/lifeview with a discipline or practical application. Estes is a professor of Bible at Cedarville University and a Cedarville alumnus. He joined the University faculty in 1984 and has been a leader in integrating the University curriculum with the Bible. His work towards integration has included serving as chair of the biblical integration task team. The Faculty Advisor Award was given to Dr. Larry Helmick. This award recognizes a faculty member with at least six years of service who has had a significant influence on students as an advisor or counselor. Helmick is a senior professor of chemistry with a track record of encouraging and supporting students. A faculty member since 1968, he was named Faculty Member of the Year in 1973 and Distinguished Educator for Research and Teaching in 1990. Helmick resides in Cedarville and is a graduate of the University. Three Deans` Service Awards were presented for the categories of 1-10, 11-20, and 21+ years of service to Cedarville University. These awards are given to faculty who demonstrate contributions to departmental, school, and university committees and task teams; service to the higher education community; involvement with students; and work with civic offices, service and youth organizations, or church or para-church organizations. Teresa Clark received the award for 1-10 years of service. A Cedarville resident, she serves as an assistant professor of exercise science and head coach of the women`s volleyball team. She is also a member of the CU Teacher Education Advisory Board and the national chair for NCCAA Division I volleyball. A Cedarville graduate, Clark came to Cedarville University in 1996. Dr. Eddie Baumann was given the award for 11-20 years of service. Baumann is a Xenia resident and serves as associate professor of education. He was instrumental in developing the University`s M.Ed. program and has led education department efforts to ensure compliance with state requirements. Baumann came to Cedarville in 1993. Dr. David Matson received the award for more than 21 years of service. Matson, who is retiring from Cedarville this spring, currently serves as professor of music history. His 40 years in the department of music and art have included serving as the chair as well as supporting a variety of University task teams and committees. He has used his familiar voice in his roles as announcer for men`s varsity basketball games, narrator of numerous University programs, and announcer on the CDR Radio Network. He resides in Cedarville. The Faculty Innovator of the Year Award was presented to Dr. Kevin Roper, assistant professor of mathematics. The award is given for an instructional or curricular innovation that has resulted in a noteworthy improvement in student learning. Roper`s creative approach to teaching calculus and real variables lets students be involved in teaching, explaining, learning, and sharing ideas among Roper`s classes. The Cedarville resident`s work has resulted in increased mathematical performance, confidence, and maturity for students. Three Faculty Teaching Effectiveness Awards were given to faculty members with 1-10, 11-20, and 21+ years of service. Recipients were chosen based on student evaluations, department chair and peer recommendations, performance of students in subsequent classes or after graduation, use of instructional technology, and use of effective pedagogical techniques. Dayton resident Terry Chamberlain, associate professor of art, received the award for 1-10 years of service. Cedarville resident Dr. Jeffrey Fawcett, associate professor of marketing, received the award for 11-20 years of service. Cedarville resident Dr. John Silvius, professor of biology, received the award for more than 21 years of service. Cedarville University named Dr. Michael Firmin its 2005 Faculty Scholar. The award is presented annually to a University faculty member based on model classroom teaching, campus leadership, the use of pioneering teaching methodology, creative course development, and instructional support. Nominations for the award are accepted from the faculty at large and selection is made by the Faculty Committee to the President. Firmin is professor of psychology and chair of the department of psychology at Cedarville University. He received his bachelor`s degree from Calvary Bible College; master`s degrees from Calvary Theological Seminary, Bob Jones University, and Marywood University; and doctorates from Bob Jones University and Syracuse University. He is a national certified counselor and a licensed psychologist. As a faculty scholar, Firmin has had 16 articles published and has presented papers at 42 national and international conferences. Twenty-eight of those presentations have involved collaboration with students. Firmin, a Cedarville resident, said, "My goal in conducting research here at Cedarville University is to help students decide where they want to go and then assist them in building a resume to get them there. ... We, as faculty, are here to help students accomplish all they can." -30-