Cedarville University Team Named World Champs Second Year Straight

by Public Relations Office

Cedarville, Ohio-A Cedarville University team of engineers has again laid claim to a World Champions title. The team, consisting of nine 2005 CU engineering graduates and three seniors, recently won Solar Splash® 2005, the world championship of intercollegiate solar boating held in Buffalo, N.Y. Dr. Tim Dewhurst, professor of mechanical engineering, served as the faculty adviser to the project. "We are simply thrilled at this accomplishment of our students," said Dr. Larry Zavodney, chair of Cedarville University`s Elmer W. Engstrom Department of Engineering. "Solar Splash® is an international intercollegiate competition that involves students designing, building, and sailing their boats and undergoing a series of competitive evaluations. Those evaluations include technical reports, visual displays, and workmanship. On-the-water competitions include a sprint and a maneuverability qualifier, followed by the ‘Solar Slalom,` which is a combination of speed and maneuverability. The final events are sprint and endurance tests." CU`s entry placed first in the solar endurance, qualifying, and visual display events, and third in the sprint event. Of a possible 1,000 points, the team received 910 - the most points ever achieved by a team at Solar Splash® - resulting in their being named the Solar Splash® 2005 Collegiate World Champions. This furthered the legacy of last year`s Cedarville world champ team and bettered their score by 50 points. The team is contemplating competing in the 2006 Frisian Nuon Solar Challenge, a 220 kilometer race held in the Netherlands. The CU entry outpaced those of teams from about 15 other schools, including Cal-Poly Pomona, Washington State University, the University of Arkansas, the U.S. Naval Academy, Messiah College, and École Technologie Supérieur from Montreal, Canada. World Champions from past years have included Kanazawa Institute of Technology (Kanazawa, Japan), École Technologie Supérieur (Montreal, Canada), the University of South Carolina, and the University of Arkansas. Complete results of the competition can be viewed at www.solarsplash.com. The race is also featured in the ASME online news magazine at www.asmenews.org/features/805solar.html. The 2005 Cedarville University team would like to thank their sponsors, including Ashland Specialty Chemical Co. of Dublin, Ohio; EnerSys, Inc. of Warrensburg, Mo.; Formula Boats by Thunderbird Products of Decatur, Ind.; Gates Corp. of Denver, Colo.; Lowrance Electronics, Inc. of Tulsa, Okla.; Performance Paints of Dayton, Ohio; and WebCore Technologies, Inc. of Miamisburg, Ohio. Located in Cedarville, Ohio, Cedarville University is an accredited, Christ-centered, Baptist university of arts, sciences, professional, and graduate programs. Offering 100 areas of study to more than 3,000 students, the University features an award-winning campus computer network and a worldwide Christian ministries program. Visit the University Web site at www.cedarville.edu. Pictured with Dewhurst (left to right) are Athan Waldron of Cedarville, Ohio; Phil Buskohl of Grundy Center, Iowa; Ross Hauswald of Brownsburg, Ind.; Mike Mossop of West Seneca, N.Y.; Scott DeClark of Grand Rapids, Mich.; Dustin Foster of Lucasville, Ohio; Tim Kaminsky of Brooklyn, Mich.; and Stuart Sheldon of Naperville, Ill. Team members not pictured are Dave Bartlett of West Creek, N.J.; Richard Lebedda of Chadds Ford, Pa.; Seth Lynch of Gurnee, Ill.; and Paul Milby of Audubon, N.J. -30-