CU Debate Team Wins Tourney

by Public Relations Office - Cedarville, OH

Cedarville, Ohio- The Cedarville University Debate Team won first place in parliamentary debate at the recent John G. Fee Memorial Tournament at Berea College in Berea, Ky. The team defeated several other colleges and universities, including the nationally recognized debate teams of Belmont University, Western Kentucky University, Asbury College, and Purdue University. The competition featured approximately 20 other colleges and 80 student competitors within the parliamentary debate division. Also, this win was especially noteworthy because although 10 of the 14 Cedarville students are novices, they competed and won in the varsity division.

Top performances were led by the duo of John Cooper  and Geneva Wilgus, who placed third in the team awards. Cooper also took third place in the novice speaking awards, and Wilgus took sixth.

Also contributing to the win were Jenna Marcum and Andy Vitaliti as well as Christen Price. Marcum and teammate Nate Washatka won second place in varsity team debate, and Marcum won eighth in varsity speaking. Vitaliti partnered with Nila Privedenyuk to reach the varsity debate octafinals along with another team, Price and Isaac Mayeux. Price took fourth place in varsity speaking.

The debate team is coached by Dr. Rebecca Sietman, who is an assistant professor of communication arts.