Faculty and Staff Members of the Year Named

by Public Relations Office - Cedarville, OH

Cedarville, Ohio-Today Cedarville University honored its Faculty Member of the Year and Staff Member of the Year, both selected by the students.

Cedarville resident Dr. Jeff Fawcett, associate professor of marketing, was the students' pick for Faculty Member of the Year. In announcing Fawcett as the award recipient, Student Academic Advisory Board President Jillian Anderson explained, “He is a professor that teaches with his personality and life as well as textbooks. … Students say, 'His concern for us is unparalleled' … He is caring, competent, committed, and innovative.”

Fawcett has been on the Cedarville faculty since 1987. A Cedarville alumnus, he also holds degrees from the University of Baltimore and Cleveland State. Using his innovative teaching style, he coordinates the Integrated Business Core class, which allows students to form their own “companies,” turn a profit, and donate the proceeds to local charities. He also advises Cedarville's chapter of Sigma Beta Delta (an international honor society for business students) and the Student CEOs organization.

Cedarville University Director of Alumni Relations Faith Linn, a Springfield resident, was named Staff Member of the Year. A Cedarville alumna herself, Linn has served her fellow graduates as alumni relations director since 1997. She is known for bringing a personal touch to the University's interaction with alumni, mentoring students, advising the Delta Alpha Epsilon student organization, and serving as editor of the Inspire alumni magazine, among many other responsibilities.

Anderson explained that Linn has “a genuine heart for people and the students of Cedarville. She goes above and beyond the call of duty, time after time. … She ministers to others as though they were her own family.”