Model U.N. Team Named "Distinguished Delegation"

by Dr. Frank Jenista/ Public Relations

Competing against 2,400 student delegates representing some 200 universities from five continents, the Cedarville University Model U.N. team earned a second-place “Distinguished Delegation” award at the National Model U.N. Conference sponsored by the United Nations in New York City.

The goal of the teams is to represent as accurately as possible the country they signify in simulated United Nations negotiations. Extensive preparation is necessary to understand complex policy positions on a wide variety of international issues and to “become” a diplomat of the country they represent. 

Delegates must stay in character – leaving behind their own cultural/national backgrounds and behaving in all ways as a U.N. delegate from that country. 

Cedarville’s team represented the country of Myanmar (or Burma) on six different United Nations committees.

Delegation (or team) awards were chosen by the National Model U.N. staff who identify consistently strong performances by all members of a university team over the five days of the conference.

Co-captains Clara Gebert and John Cooper led the Cedarville delegation composed of Devin Babcock, Heidi Benson, Kate Cella, Dan DeValve, Michael Hall, Katy Hawkins, Melissa Martin, Ben Roose and Naomi Washatka. Dr. Frank Jenista, professor of international studies and an American diplomat for 25 years, advised the team.

Located in Cedarville, Ohio, Cedarville University is an accredited, Christ-centered, Baptist university of arts, sciences, professional and graduate programs. Featuring a worldwide Christian ministries program, the University offers more than 100 areas of study to 3,000 students. Visit the University Web site at