Faculty Recognition Chapel Honors Extraordinary Professors

by Public Relations

Cedarville’s faculty recognition chapel service took place on Tuesday, March 27. The service honored Cedarville University faculty members who were promoted, received tenure, completed a doctorate degree or received awards. Faculty awards were a large part of the ceremony and honored those who stand out on campus.

The Dean’s Service Awards are given in three categories based on years of service at Cedarville University. Recipients were selected by the Academic Council according to several criteria: contributions to committees and teams at Cedarville, service to the higher education community, work with students, participation in civic offices or work with service and youth organizations and leadership in church or para-church organizations. Jewerl Maxwell, Ph.D. and assistant professor of political science, (one-10 years), Peggy Wilfong, Ph.D. and professor of English, (11-20 years) and Mike López, Ph.D. and professor of communications, (21-plus years) each received this award.

The Faculty Teaching Effectiveness Awards are also given in three categories based on years of service and are based on student evaluations, department recommendations, student performance, use of instructional technology and use of effective pedagogical techniques. Milt Becknell, Ph.D. and professor of psychology (one-10 years), Jeff Cook, D.Min. and associate professor of urban ministry, (11-20 years) and Sandi Harner, M.A. and senior professor of technical communications, (21-plus years) each received this award.

The Teaching Collaboration is given by the academic deans and recognizes interdepartmental collaboration. It seeks to foster a learning community in which various strengths are tied together to maximize students’ educational experiences. Ryan Futrell, M.F.A. and associate professor of English, and Mark Gathany, Ph.D. and assistant professor of biology, received this award.

This year the Faculty Academic Advisory Committee selected Dan Estes, Ph.D. and distinguished professor of Old Testament, as the Faculty Scholar of the Year.The Faculty Advisor Award is given to a faculty member with at least six years of service who has had a significant influence with students as an academic advisor, class advisor, career counselor, student organization advisor and/or Missions Involvement Services leader. Timothy Dewhurst, Ph.D. and professor of mechanical engineering, was selected by the academic vice president upon recommendation by the Academic Council.

The Faculty Innovator of the Year Award is given for an innovation that has resulted in a noteworthy improvement in student learning. This year’s recipient, selected by the department chairs, was Julie Furj-Kuhn, M.S.W. and assistant professor of social work, for her innovation in the Social Work Practice with Communities and Organizations course. Furj-Kuhn organizes the class to function as a nonprofit agency with the goal of giving students a real perspective of macro social work by creating a real-life experience. The course culminates in a community night event planned and implemented entirely by the students.

The Dr. Allen Monroe Integration of Faith and Learning Award recognizes sustained excellence in the scholarship and classroom teaching of the integration of Scripture and Christian worldview with the intellectual content for a discipline or the practical application of that content. Recipients are selected by a faculty committee known for biblical integration expertise, which is chaired by the director of the Center for Integration, Dr. Dan Estes. This award is named in honor of Dr. Allen Monroe, professor emeritus of social sciences. This year’s recipient was Wes Baker, Ph.D. and distinguished professor of communications.

Located in southwest Ohio, Cedarville University attracts 3,300 undergraduate, graduate and online students to more than 100 areas of study. Celebrating 125 years of education excellence, Cedarville is a Christ-centered learning community recognized nationally for rigorous academic programs, strong graduation and retention rates, accredited professional and health science offerings and leading student satisfaction ratings. Visit the University online at www.cedarville.edu.