Students Granted OSGC Scholarships

by Will Duncan, Public Relations Writer

The Ohio Space Grant Consortium (OSGC) has gifted Cedarville University with $17,000 in scholarships for the 2014 academic school year. Six junior and senior students were awarded these scholarships, which are divided into research and education categories. 

The OSGC is a NASA sponsored association that began as a collection of research universities in Ohio. It incorporated all of the state and private schools that had graduate programs whose students conducted research. Dr. Robert Chasnov, senior professor of engineering, helped recruit the students for the awards based on need and academic achievement. 

For the 2014 academic school year the research scholarship recipients include junior, Grace Revenaugh (Cedarville, Ohio); senior, Zachary Sirois (Bangor, Maine); junior, Calvin Anderson (Walton, Kentucky); and senior Dylan McKevitt (Negaunee, Michigan). They are all conducting research in their respective science and math majors. The education scholarship recipients, both specializing in science and math, include junior Jesse Orndoff (Selma, Oregon) and junior Matt Matyszczak (North Wales, Pennsylvania). 

“These scholarships allow students to earn a degree from Cedarville University and assists them in offsetting the cost of enrollment,” said Chasnov. “It places them in an undergraduate community where they are able to conduct research projects and independent studies with faculty.”

Students aspiring to receive the research scholarship should apply in March of 2015 to be eligible for the following academic school year. Students can begin applying for education scholarships in September. 

Located in southwest Ohio, Cedarville University is an accredited, Christ-centered, Baptist institution with an enrollment of 3,620 undergraduate, graduate and online students in more than 100 areas of study. Founded in 1887, Cedarville is recognized nationally for its authentic Christian community, rigorous academic programs, strong graduation and retention rates, accredited professional and health science offerings and leading student satisfaction ratings.