For the word of God and the testimony of Jesus Christ

Student Receives Prestigious Marshall Award

Share This:

ROTC - Joshua Tucker, Marshall Award Recipient

Second Lieutenant Joshua Tucker ’11 received the prestigious Marshall Award for leadership and was honored to attend the award seminar at Virginia Military Institute. Photo courtesy of Joshua Tucker

by Public Relations

July 18, 2011

Second Lieutenant Joshua Tucker, a 2011 criminal justice graduate, recently received the Marshall Award. Honored as the top cadet in his detachment, Tucker was invited to attend a leadership seminar at the Virginia Military Institute, Marshall’s alma mater. There, the award winners learned about Marshall and his principles of candor, commitment, courage, integrity and selflessness.

“I greatly enjoyed the seminar and learned about leadership and how to use that leadership in the greatest fighting force in the world,” said Tucker. “Hearing directly from our nation’s leaders was an experience I will never forget.”

The Marshall Award is named in honor of General George C. Marshall, a five-star general. Marshall served as the Army Chief of Staff as well as Secretary of State. His European Recovery Plan, also known as The Marshall Plan, helped Western Europe begin to recover from the war and led to his winning the Nobel Peace Prize.

Winners of the Marshall Award are selected based on various achievements such as scholarship, leadership and community involvement. Cadets from ROTC units throughout the nation were invited to attend the prestigious, three-day seminar in Lexington, Virginia.

Located in southwest Ohio, Cedarville University attracts 3,300 undergraduate, graduate and online students to more than 100 areas of study. Cedarville is a Christ-centered learning community recognized nationally for rigorous academic programs, strong graduation and retention rates, accredited professional and health science offerings and leading student satisfaction ratings. Visit the University online at

More Information

ROTC at Cedarville University

Department of History and Government - Criminal Justice Major