One Thousand Days Transformed - The Campaign for Cedarville
Members of Cedarville's faculty and staff receiving service awards

Cedarville faculty and staff honored for years of service

by Natalia Kirychuk, Public Relations Writer

Cedarville University honored 85 faculty and staff members for their years of service, spanning a collective 1,135 years.

Wes Baker, Ph.D., now-retired distinguished professor of communication; Linda Divan, library systems coordinator; Charles Pagnard, M.M., senior professor of music; and Paul Ware, groundskeeper, have each served at Cedarville University for 40 years.

“When I came to Cedarville, there were about 1,000 students and James T. Jeremiah was the president,” said Divan. “Over 40 years, the campus and university have grown to where we are today. Through some ups and downs and leadership changes, some things have not changed, including the concept of the faculty and staff being family. I’ve stayed so long because I'm working behind the scenes with great co-workers to help provide resources for the university family, and being part of a story that can only be explained by God granting us his favor.”

Ware shared similar thoughts to the large group of colleagues at the ceremony held in the Dixon Ministry Center.

“I count it a blessing that God put me here,” said Ware. “I believe I was made to do this job. I like the students, fellow workers, outdoors, and excitement of campus life. Beyond that, crazy student drivers don't upset me, humble tasks don't bother me, I don't get sunburn, mosquitoes don't bother me often, and I'm not very allergic to poison ivy!”

Chuck Clevenger, D.M.A., senior professor of music; Jeff Cunningham, CU utility administrator; and Jim Leightenheimer, M.A., associate professor of communication, were each honored for 35 years of service.

“Ministering at Cedarville has been a great blessing and privilege,” said Leightenheimer. “Those of us who have been around this long must give credit to God for the work that he has done in expanding our campus, programs, faculty and staff and in giving us the privilege of working to prepare students to serve God in so many amazing ways. Involvement in the development of student radio (now Resound) has been a highlight for me. Seeing God give great vision to students and to see them follow through in service to the kingdom has been very rewarding. I love CU!”

Other award recipients include the following:

30 years:
John Frazier, custodian
Tim Heaton, Ph.D., professor of education

25 years:
Bob Bielek, CAD technician
Hardy Hegna, Ph.D., professor of mechanical engineering
Scott Huck, photographer
Alan McCain, director of networking
Anne Rich, M.S., professor of accounting
Bert Wheeler, Ph.D., professor of economics
Larry Zavodney, Ph.D., senior professor of mechanical engineering

20 years:
Kim Ahlgrim, M.S., director of The Cove
Karen Calvert, administrative assistant, academic division
Sharon Christman, Ph.D., professor of nursing
Darrin Frey, Ph.D., professor of mathematics
Heather Kuruvilla, Ph.D., professor of biology and associate director of the Center for Bioethics
Diane Mitchell, administrative assistant, finance and payables
Beth Porter, M.A., chair of the department of music and worship
John Wambold, assistant director for production services

15 years:
Marc Clauson, Ph.D., professor of history and law
John Davis, director of academic human resource services
Alan Geist, Ph.D., athletic director
Derrick Green, M.A., chair of the department of communication
Mark Haldeman, manager of mechanicals systems
Gregory Martin, M.L.I.S., digital commons director and associate professor of library science
Roger O’Neel, Ph.D., assistant chair of worship
Bruce Traeger, director of church relations
Tim Tuinstra, Ph.D., associate professor of electrical engineering
Otis Wright, Ph.D., professor of mathematics

10 years:
Tim Abel, assistant director of church relations
Melissa Burns, M.D., assistant professor of biology
Scott Crosby, computer technician
Melissa Faulkner, Ph.D., chair for the department of english
Jeff Gates, M.L.I.S., information services librarian and assistant professor of library science
Mark Gathany, Ph.D., associate professor of biology
Sarah Gilchrist, M.S., assistant professor of mathematics
Vicki Hawk, office manager, school of nursing
Carrie Keib, Ph.D., associate professor of nursing
Mike Manes, head baseball coach
Christina Penrose, administrative assistant, department of science and mathematics
Scott Van Loo, Ph.D., vice president for enrollment management
Rich Williams, audio-video specialist
Tara Winter, coordinator of testing, licensure and accreditation

5 years:
Miriam Ansong, Ph.D., director, drug information and associate professor of pharmacy practice
Lisa Battaglia, supervisor of security access control
Kurt Beachy, M.S., instructor of kinesiology and allied health
Nat Biggs, network analyst
Linda Burnison, custodian
Alex Camacho, Ph.D., associate professor of marketing
Nick Carrington, M.A., assistant professor of professional writing
Stephanie Carroll, director of alumni relations and annual giving
Beth Delaney, M.S., assistant professor of nursing
Glen Duerr, Ph.D., assistant professor of international studies
Marty Eng, R.Ph., associate professor of pharmacy practice
Jeff Evans, M.B.A., associate director of admission for applications and communication
Thad Franz, R.Ph., vice chair of experiential programs and assistant professor of pharmacy practice
Lydia Gaddis, associate vice president of human resources
Seth Hamman, Ph.D., assistant professor of computer science
April Hand, serials technical assistant
Valerie Harmon, office manager library services
Geoff Holloway, Ph.D., associate professor of chemistry
Kim Jenerette, executive director of financial aid
Sharon Kerestes, M.E., curriculum materials center librarian and assistant professor of library science
Loren Kuhn, event manager
David Leitch, J.D., assistant professor of special education
Lindsey McCarty, Ph.D., assistant professor of mathematics
Amanda Meade, assistant athletic trainer
Nick Miller, assistant registrar for enrollment and testing services
Brad Pauley, health sciences laboratory technician
Jeremy Pease, painter
George Qin, Ph.D., assistant professor of mechanical engineering
Brenda Reid, coordinator of international student services
Loren Reno, M.S., professor of management and special advisor to the president
Tom Rice, M.E., assistant professor of geology
Denise Simpson, Ph.D., assistant professor of pharmaceutical sciences
Elizabeth Sled, Ph.D., assistant professor of kinesiology
Hilary Slone, Cedarville bookstore assistant manager
Chris Sohn, M.B.A., vice president for business and chief financial officer
Chad South, custodian
Dedra Wrigglesworth, manager of facilities services

Located in southwest Ohio, Cedarville University is an accredited, Christ-centered, Baptist institution with an enrollment of 3,760 undergraduate, graduate, and online students in more than 100 areas of study. Founded in 1887, Cedarville is recognized nationally for its authentic Christian community, rigorous academic programs, strong graduation and retention rates, accredited professional and health science offerings, and leading student satisfaction ratings. For more information about the University, visit

Share This Article

Interested in Cedarville?

Request Information

Are You Looking for an Expert?

Cedarville University is known throughout the country for its faculty experts who speak into national and international topics. You can find the expert you are seeking by searching our "Media Experts Guide" for detailed profiles and contact information.

Media Experts Guide »