One Thousand Days Transformed - The Campaign for Cedarville
Cedarville University faculty and staff honored for five years' service

Dedication: 84 Faculty and Staff Members Honored

by Hannah Fair, Student Public Relations Writer

Cedarville University honored 84 faculty and staff members for their years of service at Cedarville during the annual faculty and staff sessions in August. Their service spans a collective 1,085 years.

Dr. Barbara Loach, senior professor of Spanish, who has served at Cedarville since 1978, reflected, “There has been a lot of physical growth at Cedarville since I started working here. The number of students and programs has multiplied. However, the core of Cedarville has remained the same. We are unique in the way we combine academic excellence with a spiritual emphasis.”

“Even though teaching does not always show results right away, I have taught a number of students who have told me later that what they learned at Cedarville greatly prepared and equipped them for life and their careers,” continued Loach. “It is very satisfying to see students go on and serve the Lord in their professions. I know a number of alumni who have gone on to serve in the mission field or in education and even one former student who is now a junior ambassador for the U.S. embassy in Mexico.”

In 2015, Loach published the e-book “Defining Legacies,” a collection of profiles of many faculty, staff, administrators and graduates who have had a significant impact at the university and beyond during its more than 131-year history.

40 years

Paul Dixon, chancellor

Barbara Loach, senior professor of Spanish

35 years

Jim Cato, associate vice president of Christian ministries

Mark Klimek, associate professor of nursing

Mark Mathews, director of campus recreation

Cheryl Shupe, executive assistant to the vice president for business and chief financial officer

Mark Womack, sports information director

30 years

Jeff Beste, executive director of alumni and parent relations

Fran Campbell, university registrar

Scott Howder, assistant chief information officer

Nancy Ranger, administrative assistant, student life and Christian ministries

25 years

Ed Baumann, senior professor of education

Dave Denlinger, technician, mechanical engineering program

Connie Ford, nurse practitioner

Phil Grafton, associate vice president for finance/controller

Gary Hull, electrician

Paul Orchard, head coach of men’s cross country

Mark Spencer, associate professor of music

20 years

Amy Bielek, assistant director of materials and mailings

Michael Firmin, distinguished professor of psychology

Becky Hayes, director of enrollment services

Becky Kirby, staff nurse

Cyndi Messer, associate professor of English

Tim Overdorf, network software administrator

15 years

Carolyn Barnett, associate professor of nursing

Karen Callan, director of nursing lab and facilities

April Crommett, associate professor of exercise science

Chuck Elliott, professor of communication

Stephen Gaines, director of technical services

Jeff Guernsey, associate professor of finance

Vicky Hines, global outreach ministry coordinator

Aaron Hutchison, associate professor of chemistry

Eric Johnson, lab technician

Esther Lanham, accreditation specialist, office manager

Tim Norman, distinguished professor of mechanical/biomedical engineering

Keith Shomper, professor of computer science

Joyce Smallwood, records and testing assistant

Cindy Weir, director of payroll

Cindy Wingert, assistant professor of biology

10 years

Tom Betcher, director of assessment and accreditation services

Steve Brock, assistant director for live productions

Angie Cooper, budget coordinator

John Delano, associate dean, business administration graduate studies; associate professor of information technology management

Josh Erlandson, website designer/developer

Nate Hnatiuk, associate professor of chemistry

Kristy Lane, institution database coordinator

Terry Merrill, window specialist

Angie Mickle, dean, associate professor of nursing

Mandy Nolt, assistant director of assessment and accreditation services

Shari Ray, staff accountant

Diane Reid, administrative assistant

Craig Salisbury, senior graphic designer

Denise Tye, administrative assistant to the dean

Marcy Van Meter, disability compliance coordinator

Nancy Voorhies, senior regional director of development

Sandy Yoder, administrative assistant, department chairs

5 years

Samson Amos, chair, associate professor of pharmaceutical science

Melissa Beck, associate professor of pharmaceutical sciences

Zach Bowden, executive assistant to the president; associate professor of theological studies

Greg Dyson, director of intercultural leadership

Carlos Elias, professor of music; director of university orchestra

Jeremy Ervin, dean; associate professor of education

Cindy Gayer, director of teacher education services

Jim Gilcher, heating, venting and air conditioning technician

John Gilhooly, director of honors program; assistant professor of philosophy and theology

Ellen Hanson, administrative assistant to the director for global outreach

Ashley Holland, assistant professor of mathematics

Zach Jenkins, assistant professor of pharmacy practice

Jeremy Kimble, interim director, center for biblical integration; assistant professor of theology

Grant Knight, assistant men’s soccer coach

Emily Laswell, assistant professor of pharmacy practice

Jason Lee, dean, school of biblical and theological studies, professor of theological studies

Annie Lee-Zimerle, assistant professor of studio art

Billy Marsh, assistant professor of theology

Josh Michael, dean of library services; assistant professor of library science

Darren Miller, director for athletic events and facilities

Susan Plemons, assistant professor of worship

Stephen Schindler, associate director admissions, recruitment

Chad Spellman, lead developer of online Bible programs; assistant professor of biblical and theological studies

Ruth Sylvester, assistant dean; associate professor of education

Phoebe Tsai, assistant professor of information technology management

Thomas White, university president

Andrew Wonders, assistant professor of sports business management

Jon Wood, vice president of student life and Christian ministries

Located in southwest Ohio, Cedarville University is an accredited, Christ-centered, Baptist institution with an enrollment of 4,193 undergraduate, graduate, and online students in more than 150 areas of study. Founded in 1887, Cedarville is recognized nationally for its authentic Christian community, rigorous academic programs, strong graduation and retention rates, accredited professional and health science offerings, and leading student satisfaction ratings. For more information about the University, visit


Share This Article

Interested in Cedarville?

Request Information

Are You Looking for an Expert?

Cedarville University is known throughout the country for its faculty experts who speak into national and international topics. You can find the expert you are seeking by searching our "Media Experts Guide" for detailed profiles and contact information.

Media Experts Guide »