One Thousand Days Transformed - The Campaign for Cedarville

2020 Pharmacy Annual Report

The 2020 Annual Report celebrates another year of God's blessings on the School of Pharmacy. Even in the midst of challenging circumstances, we have continued to fulfill our mission to engage our students to think critically, clinically, and innovatively as we equip them to engage for Christ while delivering exceptional patient care.

Celebrating Our Students

92.3% of the Pharm.D. Class of 2020 who applied for a residency received one. #2 in the nation!

Residency Match Rate #2 in the Nation

Of the 2020 Cedarville University School of Pharmacy residency candidates who applied for a residency, 92.3% received one, making Cedarville #2 in the nation for this stat.

Pharmacy student at a desk on the phone helping with COVID-19 contact tracing.

Local Pharmacy Students Assist in COVID-19 Tracing

In October, 26 Cedarville pharmacy students worked in collaboration with Wright State School of Medicine and Master of Public Health students, along with Butler and Montgomery county, to assist in COVID-19 tracing efforts. This was a unique opportunity for our students and a wonderful way to help our local community.

Zachary Krauss wearing white pharmacy lab coat.

Student Receives Grant From CPNP Foundation

Zach Krauss, current P2 pharmacy student, received the College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists (CPNP) Foundation Defining the Future Grant awarded to help further neurological or psychological related research. His abstract titled “Analyzing the Effect of Art Therapy Interventions and Wellness Programs on Graduate Pharmacy Students' Mental Health” was just accepted for the upcoming CPNP 2021 conference.

Recognizing Our Faculty

Denise Simpson

AACP 2020 Teacher of the Year

Dr. Denise Jean-Louis, Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, was named the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy’s (AACP) Teacher of the Year. Dr. Jean-Louis’ area of expertise is in medicinal and natural products chemistry.

Her research interests include natural product drug discovery with a focus on anticancer agents and antioxidants. She has co-authored several peer-reviewed manuscripts on the medicinal chemistry and biology of anticancer and central nervous system agents.

Her philosophy of teaching focuses on student engagement through active learning. Students get an introduction to the course material followed by reinforcement. She employs several different pedagogies to promote student interaction and engagement with the course material and aid with the long-term retention of concepts.

Jeff Bates

CPFI National Advisor of the Year

Dr. Jeff Bates, Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Associate Dean, received the Psalm 145 Award from Christian Pharmacists Fellowship International (CPFI), recognizing him as Chapter Advisor of the Year.

This award goes to a CPFI advisor for service unto the Lord and to students. In the presentation of the award, Dr. Bates was recognized for helping and encouraging students, supporting the CPFI Great Lakes Conference, and selflessly contributing to the chapter. Through his support of the chapter, they received a grant from CPFI to further their mission. It was further noted that he demonstrates Christlike character and servant leadership.

Dr. Bates’ personal mission is to recruit, empower, and inspire healthcare providers (especially pharmacists) who are committed to lavishing the love of Christ on our fallen world through the provision of exceptional care, routinely striving to exceed expectations.

Dr. Bates serves at CPFI both locally and nationally. This year, he was instrumental in planning and organizing the CPFI conference, including the transition to a virtual conference. We are grateful to have Dr. Jeff Bates here at Cedarville University.

David Peters

Preceptor of the Year

Dr. David Peters, Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice, was named Miami Valley Hospital’s Preceptor of the year.

As a preceptor, Peters teaches pharmacy outside the classroom in a neurocritical care unit, which serves patients who have had severe strokes and seizures. He also helps his students to manage research projects while teaching them about statistics and research design.

Peters was recognized as the Preceptor of the Year for his work with Miami Valley Hospital’s two postgraduate pharmacy residents who signed a one-year contract to learn more about clinical pharmacy within a hospital.

Thadd Franz working at Cedar Care Pharmacy

Director of Pharmacy for Cedar Care

Dr. Thad Franz, Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Vice Chair of Experiential Programs, is now the Director of Pharmacy for Cedar Care Village Pharmacy. Dr. Franz has been a practicing community pharmacist for the past 15 years. He is a graduate of The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy. His desire is to serve the healthcare needs of the community of Cedarville while being an example for pharmacy students, both at the pharmacy and within the School.

Juanita Draime

Clinical Research Paper Award From APhA

Dr. Juanita Draime, Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice, received the 2020 Clinical Research Paper award from the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) for her paper on drug diversion in pharmacies.

Justin Cole

Center for Pharmacy Innovation Launches Podcast

Our Center for Pharmacy Innovation (CPI), under the direction of Dr. Justin Cole, launched a new podcast, DISRxUPT, to highlight the innovation of Cedarville faculty and students. DISRxUPT is available on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Spotify, Overcast, Castro, Stitcher, Pocket Casts, Cast Box and TuneIn. DISRxUPT has already featured a broad range of topics, from the use of nanotechnology to ethical considerations of the COVID-19 vaccine. "My hope is that this podcast stimulates excitement among our students and practicing pharmacists while providing ideas that can be implemented more broadly in various pharmacy practices," said Cole, director of CPI, Chair and Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice.

Share this Annual Report with others: