One Thousand Days Transformed - The Campaign for Cedarville
Five year service award honorees

Faculty, Staff Honored for Years of Service

by Madison Cannon, Public Relations Writer

Cedarville University recognized faculty and staff for their years of service during its campuswide meeting Friday, Aug. 12.  

Eighty-six faculty and staff were recognized for their service to the university, spanning a collective 1,195 years. Sandi Harner, M.A., senior professor of professional writing; Kurt Moreland, M.A., associate professor of communication; and Galen Smith, D.Min., professor of economics, each has worked for 35 years at Cedarville.

“My service at Cedarville University really goes back to the students,” said Harner after being recognized. “To influence the lives of so many students, and to be a part of this university that I love, means so much to me. It’s been such a privilege to be here.”

Other award recipients include the following:

25 years
Ron Bader, three-dimensional arts studio supervisor
Bob Chasnov, Ph.D., senior professor of engineering
Doug Chisholm, director of campus safety
Cindy Davis, assistant to the registrar
Kathy Freese, M.Ed., associate professor of kinesiology
Becky Harner, senior custodian
Chris Miller, Ph.D., senior professor of Bible
John Whitmore, Ph.D., professor of geology
Joy Williams, assistant to the director of academic program development

20 Years
Dave Bartlett, associate vice president for planned giving
Kim Boeke-Wade, administrative assistant for history and government
Ryan Bowen, senior analyst
Terry Chamberlain, M.A., associate professor of fine art 
Jim Clark, assistant sports information director
Teresa Clark, M.S., associate professor of kinesiology
Don Deardorff, Ph.D., professor of English
Julie Deardorff, M.L.I.S., director of library collection services
Tim Dewhurst, Ph.D., senior professor of mechanical engineering
LaVerne Dickey, international programs coordinator
Scott Dixon, Ph.D., associate professor of Bible
Kristy Lester, assistant director, database management
Mark McClain, Ph.D., professor of chemistry
Deb McDonald, director of University Medical Services
Phyllis Morris, postal clerk I, package/parcel distribution
Linda Overturf, staff nurse
Jeff Shortt, Ph.D., professor of electrical engineering
Dennis Sullivan, M.D., professor of pharmacy practice
Marilyn Ware, campus safety secretary

15 Years
Paula Adkins, postal and print service supervisor
Doug Adkins, piano technician
Jon Austin, Ph.D., associate professor of marketing
Mike Blosser, plumber
Jeff Bolender, director of track & field/cross country
Brian Burns, director of student life programs
Bruce Curlette, D.M.A., professor of music
Ann Delange, postal clerk II
Chu-Yu Huang, Ph.D., professor of nursing
Suzanne Lefever, M.S.N., associate professor of nursing
Angie McIntosh, administrative associate to the president and assistant secretary to the trustees
Larry Reid, door and locksmith specialist
Luke Tse, Ph.D., professor of psychology
David Young, custodian

10 Years
Pat Bennett, M.Ed., director of grants and corporate and foundation relations
Kenneth Carlton, athletic grounds specialist
Peggy Grigorenko, Ph.D., associate professor of education
James Lindsey, custodian
Theresa Long, event support specialist
Steve Miller, floor care specialist
Lori Myers, mediaplex coordinator
Steve Prether, manager of university grounds
Bob Ross, custodian
Nellie Sullivan, M.F.A., associate professor of English
Jean Weyandt, director for advancement services
Deb Wilson, administrative assistant

5 Years
Jeb Ballentine, Pharm.D., associate professor of pharmacy practice
Aleda Chen, Ph.D., assistant professor of pharmacy practice
Kristi Coe, M.S., sciences librarian, assistant professor of library science
Amber Doleys, resident director for Willetts Hall
Brett Faro, head soccer coach
Lori Ferguson, M.A., assistant professor of education
Joe Fox, instructional services librarian
John Hart, general counsel
Heather Heritage, M.A., assistant professor of communication
Aaron Huffman, M.F.A., assistant professor of graphic design
Debbie Kuhlwein, help desk representative
Clara Lutz, director of prospect development
Ruth Markham, Ed.D., associate professor of psychology
Michael McCoy, programmer/analyst
Lin Pan, Ph.D., assistant professor of physics
Bob Paris, Ph.D., assistant professor of biology
Kaleb Pauley, Ph.D., assistant professor of biology
Matt Phillips, manager of custodial services
Sheri Prater, administrative assistant
Chris Reese, associate athletic director for events and facilities
Rocco Rotello, Ph.D., associate professor of pharmaceutical sciences
Wes Rowe, softball head coach
Ken Rucker, associate director of career services
Rick Tison, Ph.D., assistant professor of history
Andy Wagers, Ph.D., assistant professor of physics
Erin Weber, M.A., assistant professor of Spanish
Kearsen Wideman, assistant manager of custodial services
Di Wu, Ph.D., assistant professor of psychology

Located in southwest Ohio, Cedarville University is an accredited, Christ-centered, Baptist institution with an enrollment of 3,711 undergraduate, graduate and online students in more than 100 areas of study. Founded in 1887, Cedarville is recognized nationally for its authentic Christian community, rigorous academic programs, strong graduation and retention rates, accredited professional and health science offerings and leading student satisfaction ratings. For more information about the University, visit

Share This Article

Interested in Cedarville?

Request Information

Are You Looking for an Expert?

Cedarville University is known throughout the country for its faculty experts who speak into national and international topics. You can find the expert you are seeking by searching our "Media Experts Guide" for detailed profiles and contact information.

Media Experts Guide »