One Thousand Days Transformed - The Campaign for Cedarville
Model UN Team Success

Model U.N. Team Dominates at Dayton Conference

by Natalia Kirychuk, Public Relations Writer

Cedarville University’s Model United Nations (U.N.) team competed in the annual Dayton Model United Nations Conference (DAYMUNC). And, just like last year, the team claimed seven individual awards during the two-day event held February 3-4 at Sinclair Community College in Dayton, Ohio.

Cedarville’s 16-member team competed against 150 other students from 10 Midwest universities. The team participated in four different committees and represented nine different countries. Dr. Glen Duerr, associate professor of international studies, is the team’s adviser.
Esther Holm, a junior majoring in international studies and Spanish from Filadelfia, Paraguay, won outstanding delegate – the highest individual award given – at SimSec, the simulated version of the UN Security Council. Tyler Hanley, senior political science major from Pekin, Illinois, won distinguished delegate at Simsec.

“One of the greatest privileges I have had at Cedarville is being co-captain with Tyler Hanley on the Model U.N. Team. Winning the award was a humbling experience, because it showed me how far I've come since starting Model U.N.,” said Holm.

“I am proud to have been a member of Cedarville's Model U.N. team for the past three years and am incredibly thankful for the opportunities and friendships that Model U.N. has provided me,” Hanley offered. “Model UN has allowed me to apply lessons from the classroom and work together with students from around the world.”

Christian Townsend, a senior from Indianapolis, Indiana, majoring in history and political science, won outstanding delegate to the UN Security Council. Corinna Ward, a junior double majoring in finance and marketing from Dayton, Ohio and Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, won an honorable mention in this category.

Jana Minich, senior political science major from Lafayette, Indiana, won outstanding delegate to the U.N. High Commission on Refugees.

Lauren Payne, senior political science major from Auburn, Indiana, won distinguished delegate to the U.N. Committee on Narcotic Drugs and Jesse Thompson won an honorable mention for this category.

"The Model U.N. is comprised of outstanding young men and women who represented Cedarville University with excellence,” said Duerr. “I would certainly characterize the performance of the entire team as outstanding given their energy, attention to detail, and exhaustive work throughout the entirety of the weekend."

Located in southwest Ohio, Cedarville University is an accredited, Christ-centered, Baptist institution with an enrollment of 3,760 undergraduate, graduate, and online students in more than 100 areas of study. Founded in 1887, Cedarville is recognized nationally for its authentic Christian community, rigorous academic programs, strong graduation and retention rates, accredited professional and health science offerings, and leading student satisfaction ratings. For more information about the University, visit

Share This Article

Interested in Cedarville?

Request Information

Are You Looking for an Expert?

Cedarville University is known throughout the country for its faculty experts who speak into national and international topics. You can find the expert you are seeking by searching our "Media Experts Guide" for detailed profiles and contact information.

Media Experts Guide »