One Thousand Days Transformed - The Campaign for Cedarville

Institutional Review Board


To ensure that participant hazards are kept within acceptable moral and ethical parameters when human subject research is conducted involving Cedarville University faculty, staff, and students.


The oversight of research involving human subjects at Cedarville University springs from our common commitment to the principles of human value and human dignity arising from God's Word (Psalm 8; Genesis 1:26–28; Psalm 139: 13–16). Our respect for human life at all stages, from conception until death, requires the implementation of careful, concise internal standards to protect individuals participating in research initiatives from intentional or unintentional harm, and to affirm their value as fellow bearers of God's image. It is our intention to be in compliance with federal and international standards in regard to research involving human subjects provided they are consistent with that Biblical commitment.

Committee Membership 2024 – 2025

Voting members of Cedarville's Institutional Review Board include:

  • Dr. Juanita Draime – Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice
  • Dr. Jon Austin – Associate Professor of Marketing
  • Dr. Aleda Chen – Professor of Pharmacy Practice
  • Dr. Chu-Yu Huang – Senior Professor of Nursing
  • Dr. April Crommett - Associate Professor of Exercise Science
  • Mr. Jeff Gates - Assistant Professor of Library Science (Non-Scientist)
  • Dr. Elisha Injeti - Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Dr. Christine Kim - Assistant Professor of International Studies
  • Dr. Michael Sherr – Professor of Social Work (IRB Chair)
  • Dr. Felisha Younkin – Assistant Professor of Psychology
  • Dr. Ken Blood – Associate Professor of Athletic Training
  • Dr. Dan Estes – Distinguished Professor of Old Testament
  • Dr. Ronni Kurtz – Assistant Professor of Theology
  • Dr. Rebecca Kuhn - Assistant Professor, Developmental Education
  • Dr. J. Wes Halderman – Associate Program Director/Rural Site Director, Soin Family Medicine Residency, Kettering Health (Medical Doctor)

Non–voting members of Cedarville's Institutional Review Board include:

  • Dr. Marcus Leeds – IRB Institutional Official
  • Mrs. Karen Calvert – IRB Administrative Assistant